Articles Sightseeing Abu simbel temples
It was discovered by the Swiss traveler "Johann Ludwig Burckhardt" in 1813 AD. It witnesses a phenomenon that is repeated twice a year, and everyone waits to enjoy watching it, as the sun perpendicular to the face of the statue of Ramses II, the first time on October 22, and the second on February 22. In the sixties of the twentieth century, it was saved from the sinking that could have occurred as a result of the construction of Lake Nasser and the construction of the water reservoir after the construction of the High Dam, where it was moved 210 meters west of its original place, about 65 meters above the ground. In 1979, it was included in the list of World Heritage Sites. It is the temple of Abu Simbel, located in the far south of Aswan, about 300 km from the city. Built by the most famous kings of Egypt from the era of the modern state, who ruled Egypt for 67 years, King "Ramses II".
We can only say that it was designed with a very unique and creative design, as it was carved into the rock at a depth of 48 meters, Also, its facade was carved in the rock, and it was decorated with four huge statues of King Ramses II, each of them is about 20 meters long.
It is reported that this temple contains two of the most important rock-cut temples in the far south of Egypt: The Great Temple of Abu Simbel and the Small Temple of Abu Simbel. The first was dedicated to the worship of "Ra Hor Akhti", "Amon-Ra", "Ptah", and the king himself. Completely carved in rock, it took about 20 years to carve! And for the second, it is located 100 meters from the first temple, and extends into the plateau at a depth of 24 meters, and was dedicated to the goddess "Hathor" and Queen "Nefertari".